Partitions of Poland

Go down

Partitions of Poland

Post by wangrong on Tue Nov 02, 2010 1:48 pm

The Partitions of Poland or Partitions of the Polish–Lithuanian Commonwealth[1][2][3] took place in the second half of the 18th century and ended the existence of the Polish–Lithuanian Commonwealth. The partitions were carried out by the Russian Empire, Kingdom of Prussia, and Habsburg Austria dividing up the Commonwealth lands among themselves. Three partitions took place:

* The First Partition: August 5, 1772.
* The Second Partition: January 23, 1793 (in which Austria did not participate).
* The Third Partition: October 24, 1795. With this partition, the independent state of Poland ceased to exist.

The partitions are also divided by the partitioner into the Austrian partition, Prussian partition and the Russian partition.

The term "Fourth Partition of Poland" may refer to any subsequent division of Polish lands or to the diaspora communities that played important political roles in the reestablishment of the Polish nation-state after 1918.

Modern Prom Dresses
cheap jordans

Forum Lengend

Posts : 144
Join date : 2010-10-10

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum